Chili & Gluten-Free Cornbread

I don’t always eat vegan.

Sometimes I crave meat, so I don’t deny myself. Plus, on the menu for the month the fiancé wrote ‘chili with meat’ specifically, so I shall get it done.
Sure, I could make a vegan chili, but would it still be chili? Would it be a bean & tomato soup?
A main factor to making chili is that the spices are right. Meat doesn’t add the flavor, spices do.

image

One thing that I remain strict on is the gluten-free factor.
Since I wanted to make a bread to replace my cracker, cornbread seemed to be the obvious choice!

I made this cold weather, comfort food just at the right time. It’s been cold and rainy all week. Nothing warms me up better than a hot soup in my mason jar between my frigid fingertips.

image

Chili

Ingredients

1 pound ground hamburger meat, lean (can omit or replace with ground turkey, chicken or Vegan options: TVP, or even better ground seeds or nuts like walnuts)
1 – 15oz cans of pinto beans
(I use Eden Organic brand – BPA free lining!)
2 – 15oz cans of dark red kidney beans
1 – 28oz can of diced tomatoes (I used Muir Glen Organic)
1/4 – 28oz can of fire roasted diced tomatoes (had leftovers from other meal – of course you can roast & dice your own tomatoes, highly recommended if you can not get BPA-free organic cans)
3 1/2 cups water (fill empty cans with water to rinse out juices and use every drop of flavor!)
1Tbsp chili powder blend (Frontier brand for spices is the best)
1Tbsp Onion powder (or flakes, or fresh!)
1tsp garlic powder (SWAD brand is nice of you have access to Indian grocers)
1Tbsp Cumin powder
1tsp paprika
1tsp HealthForce Nutritionals Earth blend
Himalayan pink salt, to taste
3Tbsp arrowroot or cornstarch starch  for thickener, if needed (to avoid, don’t add more water than necessary)

Method

1) Cook the first ingredient (drain grease out if using meat, sauté onion & garlic if using fresh).
2) Open all cans and empty into a large cooking pot.
3) Add water and stir. (If opting for fresh tomatoes, use less water)
4) Add all spices and stir. (Be sure to taste and smell the spices, be generous with the ones you’d like more of)
5) Turn heat down to simmer for about 10-15 minutes, stirring occasionally so not to let chili stick and burn at the bottom.
6) If the chili is not thick enough, add starch. It is important to first mix the starch with a little cold water before adding to hot liquids to avoid clumps.
7) Add salt, if needed.

For Cornbread, I used Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Mix and followed the directions using Almond Breeze Milk.

Serve with Cornbread or Crackers.
I like to top mine with jalapeños or spicy pickle slices.

image

Enjoy!

(BTW – Just as I finish typing this, it begins snowing! Goodbye autumn 😦 Good thing I have my jar-o-chili to get me through lunch in a warm way!)

One thought on “Chili & Gluten-Free Cornbread

  1. Pingback: Gluten-Free Crackers | Garden of Good Eatin'

Leave a Reply

