Vitamin Purple Smoothie

When I need something quick & easy and full of nutrients to fuel me for a busy day, I turn to a great blend of fruit, veggies, seeds and nuts in a smoothie! I am sure to get a source of fiber and protein inside to keep my appetite satisfied until lunchtime.
image

Most people rave about “green smoothies”. My love for blueberries and açai always make mine purple. Vitamin Purple, mhm-mmm!!

image

There is no exact science to smoothie making. No measurements, no timing, just pure intuition and ‘eyeballin’ it’. I try to hit the sale bins for the brown spotted bananas (that’s when they are the sweetest!) and freeze them whole for future use in smoothie making. I tend to keep frozen blueberries and mango chunks for adding to the blender, as well.

For the protein and fiber, I add flaxseed meal, coconut flakes (or pulp leftover from coconut milk making), almond milk, hemp seeds, yogurt or peanut butter.

image

Clockwise, Start at Top: Coconut Flour, Chyawanprash, Flaxseed Meal, MacaForce, Vitamineral Green, Ginger Root. Center: Açai Powder

Superfoods, pictured above, are also a main feature in these mini-meals in jar. (clockwise starting at top: coconut, Dabur’s Chyawanprash, flaxseed meal, HealthForce Nutritionals Macaforce, HealthForce Nutritionals Vitamineral Green, ginger root, Sambazon’s Açai in center)

You may ask, “what in the world is chyawanprash?!” It is an old concoction of herbs, spices melted with ghee and honey. Ayurvedic medicine goodness. It’s super sticky. I either take it in the smoothie, or dissolved in hot water.

image

I interchange the Greens with Pines’ Mighty Green packets they gave to me (from my hometown! Though, this kind might is currently being reformulated) or with fresh spinach, kale or whatever greens I have in garden or refrigerator.

image

Vitamin Purple Smoothie

1 banana
1 handful blueberries
1 handful mango chunks
1 cup ice cubes
1Tbsp Chyawanprash
1Tbsp coconut
1tsp green powder
1tsp açai powder
1tsp macaforce blend
1Tbsp flaxseed meal
Non-Dairy Milk, enough to cover the ice in the blender for easy blending (I like to make sunflower seed milk)

image

Blend up and use your energy wisely 😉
There’s no wrong to make a smoothie (but a few key components to a healthy one!)

image

Bottom’s up!

7 thoughts on “Vitamin Purple Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Recipe Find: Mango and Pineapple Gren Smoothie Bowl | Besos♥

  2. Pingback: PB & J Smoothie | Garden of Good Eatin'

  3. Pingback: How to Peel Frozen Bananas | Garden of Good Eatin'

  4. I love blueberries too! I love smoothies too! Just had a Super Green Smoothie for lunch- Kale, Spinach, Bell Pepper, Flax, and spices. Yummy! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!

  5. Oh my goodness, that is the best ‘recipe’ for a smoothie I’ve ever seen. It looks delish and I think if I could have one of these right now I’d be so happy! I wish they would sell smoothies like this at Whole Foods! I’m going to suggest it!

Leave a Reply

