Utthapam (Savory Vegetable Pancakes, gluten-free)

I absolutely LOVE Indian Cuisine. It’s usually all naturally gluten-free, healthy & tastes amazing. Eating a mostly vegetarian diet is so good (and good for you) especially Indian food. 🙂

image

Utthapam is a savory Indian pancake food. It is not thin and crispy like Dosa is. Traditionally, the batter is fermented, but again I go the quick and easy route to get similar flavor. I suppose one could add Apple Cider Vinegar to the mix to give it more of a sour flavor, but why add more ingredients to a simple breakfast?

I had started a habit of making pancakes for breakfast, but started to get sick of the sugar part. Too many sweets aren’t that healthy. They say sugar is not a food anyways. For me, once I have sugar, I just want more!

When I ate gluten, things like doughnuts would make me sick (the endless cycle of sugar, gluten, sleep, more sugar, gluten, sleep…) and have all kinds of digestive issues. I find that eating spicy food makes meals easier on the body.

In Ayurveda, ancient Indian study of life sciences, they say to combat sweet cravings to eat more savory, bitter, pungent flavors. This is exactly why I am in love with Bedekar’s Lime Chili Pickle!

image

Utthapam (Savory Vegetable Pancakes)

Ingredients:
1/4 cup moong dal flour
1/4 cup brown rice flour
Scant 1/4 cup sorghum/bajri flour
1 small tomato, diced
1 carrot, shredded
1 handful shredded greens (I used kale, chard, beet greens & spinach – would be great with cilantro)
3/4 cup water
1tsp garlic powder
1tsp onion powder
1/4 cup leftover coconut chutney
Himalayan Pink Salt, to taste

image

Method:
1. Mix all dry ingredients
2. Add water.
3. Add vegetables.
4. Heat pan with some oil (I used EVOO).
5. Add batter to center and spread thin (if too thick, will be gooey in center).

image

6. Fry on one side until top looks dry, then flip.

Makes 6 medium-sized pancakes.

Enjoy with Lentil Soup or Lime Chili pickle.

2 thoughts on “Utthapam (Savory Vegetable Pancakes, gluten-free)

  1. Pingback: Spicy Red Lentil Vegetable Soup (Vegan & Gluten-Free) | Garden of Good Eatin'

  2. Pingback: Tomato Utthapam with Tri Colour Chutney | The Pics I Click

Leave a Reply

